Who is Upstream?




Operations Manager: Joanna Jakubczyk

email_icon.png joanna@thinkupstream.net

Joanna Jakubczyk is Upstream's Operations Manager. She works to expand our efforts at engaging you, our Upstream community of supporters, and develops partnerships with like-minded organizations, funders and more. 

Joanna earned her Master’s degree in Public Health at the University of Saskatchewan, and has worked with the Saskatchewan Population Health Evaluation Research Unit and the Saskatoon Health Region. Originally from Ottawa, Joanna is trained in Finance and Marketing and spends most of her spare time poring over books in local coffee shops.



Policy and Research Manager: Alex Paterson

email_icon.png alex@thinkupstream.net

Alex is a researcher and campaigner who co-founded Manitoba Energy Justice Coalition and worked on the campaign to stop the Energy East pipeline. He has also worked with the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy and the Manitoba Institute for Child Health.

Alex loves growing tomatoes, cuddling sled dogs, and combat sports. He holds a BA in Political Science from Laurentian University and a MA in Indigenous Governance from University of Winnipeg. Alex, a settler, has lived throughout Anishinaabe Aki: Toronto, Orangeville, Sudbury, Winnipeg, and now Gatineau.



Steven Allen (Board Co-Chair) 

Thilina Bandara

Lara Ellis 

Gavin Gardiner

Michael Gatin

Ian Hamilton

Simon-Pierre Landry

Stephanie Ortynsky (Board Co-Chair) 

Pam Sethi



Ryan Meili

Raffi Cavoukian

Connie Clement

Kevin Millsip

Charles Pascal

Dennis Raphael

Danyaal Raza

Roy Romanow

Ketan Shankardass

Adrienne Silnicki

Louise Simard

Peggy Taillon

Armine Yalnizyan


You can contact Upstream at upstream@thinkupstream.net

To learn more about the Upstream team, check out our “meet the team” album on our Facebook page.